Friday Favorite: Mem Fox

hello-baby
One of my favorite writers is Mem Fox, a Southern Aussie children’s author and literacy advocate. I am in love with her picture book, “Hello Baby!” featuring gorgeously cut/torn paper illustrations of wild animals by Steve Jenkins. The text is sweet, rhyming and playful; the reader asks “Who are you, baby?” then guesses, “Are you a monkey with clever toes?”/”Perhaps you’re a porcupine, twitching its nose” (and so on). It concludes with, “Are you my treasure?”/”The answer is Yes!” As I read it to a group of preschoolers yesterday, I realized it was a perfect way to end my story time about Mommies. It’s full of warmth and love, and the images are captivating.

“Read with passion and expressive abandon…” Fox declares in her essay “If I Were Queen of the World“. My love for “Hello Baby!” doubled when I listened to her reading it. Check it out! There are parent/teacher resources on her website, including a list of “Must-have classics“. She even has her recipes for Chocolate Mousse and Chocolate Fudge on there if you need a big edible dose of sweetness. Go to the nearest library and get her books- she is truly a treasure!

One thought on “Friday Favorite: Mem Fox

  1. This sounds like the perfect book for Ty right now. I can’t wait to check it out. You mentioned Mem Fox before and then I forgot to go check the books out. I am putting it in my phone now so I don’t forget. šŸ™‚

Comments are closed.