Julie Andrews- acting, singing…and children’s books?

Treasury_Julie_Andrews
I grew up loving Julie Andrews. Let me just get that out of the way. The Sound of Music is one of my favorite films, and I may even own a Sound of Music piano book. And though I’m not a huge fan of the film Mary Poppins, I can appreciate it. Julie Andrews is not only a British icon, but a huge reader and book lover. I also love poetry (Hello, 811’s!). So when I saw Julie Andrews’ Treasury for All Seasons: Poems and Songs to Celebrate the Year, selected by Julie Andrews and Emma Walton Hamilton I had to check it out.

The book is divided into sections by Seasons, and then by months, with an additional section for special occasions like new babies and birthdays. It includes poetry from a wide variety of writers- Emily Dickinson, John Updike, Rupert S. Holland, Jack Prelutsky, and more. The index in the back is helpful because it lists the poems by holiday. The illustrations are delightful; vibrant, flowing paintings by Marjorie Priceman frame the words, making you want to linger on each page a little longer. This is a book for all ages, as various age groups will appreciate different poems about different topics. It has something for everyone. This collection is a treasure, unlike her Dumpy the Dump Truck books which I just can’t seem to get through without yawning. Some of my favorites include:

Emily Dickinson’s poem “Bee, I’m expecting you!” on page 71.

“Good Hot Dogs” by Sandra Cisneros on page 116- This one makes me hungry every time.

“little tree” by e.e. cummings p.150

On page 101, there is a wonderful poem called “Reading: Summer” by Myra Cohn Livingston

I love that she included a Joy Harjo poem, called “Remember” which concludes like this:
Remember you are all people and that all people are you.
Remember that all is in motion, is growing, is you.
Remember language comes from this.
Remember the dance language is, that life is.
Remember
(p. 91)

2 thoughts on “Julie Andrews- acting, singing…and children’s books?

  1. Hi Rebecca,
    Thanks for introducing the books you like from the library. They’re delightful! Though I don’t have time to read a book without being interrupted often with a 5 months old. Through your blog, I feel like I’m up to date with a good book or two.

Comments are closed.