Friday Favorite: Emma Dodd

Love_Bugs_DoddPosh_Dog_DoddIt started with Dog’s Colorful Day: A Messy Story about Colors and Counting (2003) by English author/illustrator Emma Dodd. I fell in love with this book a few years ago, and soon discovered that I love pretty much every one of Dodd’s books. Her books are super cute, clever, educational and entertaining narratives that never grow old. They usually feature animals, and address learning concepts like colors, counting, and the ABC’s as well as feelings such as love, affection, admiration, friendship, and more. These are great books for story times, with large, bright illustrations, rhyming text and a great sense of humor blended into the story line.

Her picture books are perfect for the toddler/preschooler/pre-K crowd. One of her latest books, Foxy (2012) stars a little girl who is nervous for her first day of school and her friend, Foxy (an adorable red fox) conjures up things to help ease her anxiety, but doesn’t necessarily produce the things he means to. Her books with Giles Andreae, I Love My Mommy and I Love My Daddy are so cute and humorous you’ll want to share them again and again. They have an affectionate rhyming narrative and capture a young person’s perspective on the many reasons they love their parents. Her book I Love Bugs is another favorite- and a good one for summer when little ones are outside observing various insects, from “fuzzy sunny honey bugs and furry whirry funnys bugs” to “flouncy frilly flutter bugs and silly clitter-clutter bugs” (As you can tell, the vocabulary in this book is fabulous!) Dodd’s “I Don’t Want a Cool Cat!” and “I Don’t Want a Posh Dog!” (emphasizing the endearing nature of loveable ordinary pets) are also favorites, but there are so many it’s hard to choose which one I love the most. I hope you’ll feel the same way.

8 thoughts on “Friday Favorite: Emma Dodd

  1. Reblogged this on That fun reading teacher and commented:
    Hello everyone! I’d like to introduce you ittybittyreader.wordpress.com, a fabulous early literacy site for book reviews and introductions. Check out this bright and colorful description of Emma Dodd’s story ‘I Love Bugs’. Perfect for this time of year, wouldn’t you say?

    1. Thanks for the link. Looking forward to reading Emma’s books to my class in the new school year.

Comments are closed.