Missing Mama

mother_daughter_blueI recently went back to work full time after many years of working part time. I was able to mostly stay home for over three years, working just enough outside the house to keep connected to the profession, maintain current skills and not totally go insane. But I knew that I’d ultimately be happier having more of a professional life, and I recently accepted a full time youth services job in a library I love and with people I enjoy and respect. And the kids? They are both under 5, so that’s everyone’s question…How old are your kids? What happens to them while you’re at work? How are they coping? (I’m pretty sure my husband rarely fielded these questions from his peers, which is annoying, but a whole different discussion). The kids are fine. But I love sharing books about issues they’re facing, and missing a parent who goes to work and/or being at a new childcare or school is a common issue this time of year, not just for my little ones.

Here are some of my recommendations for toddlers, preschoolers and kindergarteners.

I also recommend the Little Parachutes website to find good books for a variety of situations your kids may be facing (organized by topic such as fears, sibling rivalry, babysitters, etc).

Llama Llama Misses Mama by Anna Dewdney
The Kissing Hand by Audrey Penn
When I Miss You by Cornelia Maude Spelman (The Way I Feel series)
My Mum Goes to Work by Kes Gray
Owl Babies by Martin Waddell
I Love You All Day Long by Franceska Rusackas
Bye Bye Time by Elizabeth Verdick
Meet Me At the Moon by Gianna Marino
Oh My Baby, Little One by Kathy Appelton
Don’t Forget I Love You by Miriam Moss
Wherever You Are My Love Will Find You by Nancy Tillman

One thought on “Missing Mama

Comments are closed.