Friday Favorite: 10 Not-So-Scary Stories for Halloween

halloween-kidsMy preschooler will be a ghost this year and my youngest will be a firefighter. I anticipate a really fun and spirited Halloween now that they’re old enough to play dress up and imagine themselves as the heros and heroines of their own stories. But at the same time, I don’t want them to develop fears that disrupt their sleep (or mine!), so we’ve been reading some not-so-scary stories lately. Here are some of my favorites. I’d love to hear yours!

Halloween Day by Anne Rockwell
Big Pumpkin by Erica Silverman
The Night Before Halloween by Natasha Wing
Ghosts in the House! by Kazuno Kohara
Go Away, Big Green Monster! by Ed Emberley
Two Little Witches by Harriet Ziefert
Zen Ghosts by Jon J. Muth
Five Little Pumpkins by Michael Scott
Can You Make a Scary Face? by Jan Thomas
Pumpkin Trouble by Jan Thomas

Want more ideas? Check out this list from Goodreads or this one from Scholastic.

