Friday Favorite: Snippet the Early Riser by Bethanie Deeney Murguia

Snippet_MurguiaI am not a morning person. I take time to wake up. And lots of coffee. So when my preschooler, an early riser, comes in before 6 a.m. most mornings, it’s a rude awakening. We tried to train him to wait until the green light on his alarm clock turns on, signaling it’s okay to get up. It works on and off. But lately, I’ve been mumbling “give me few minutes to wake up” and wishing I could catch a few more zzzz’s as he climbs on the bed and declares it’s time to get up.

Anyone with young kids will identify with my featured book. Snippet the Early Riser by Bethanie Deeney Murguia stars an adorable little snail who doesn’t sleep in. His family likes to sleep in, but that’s no fun for a little snail who’s ready to start his day and play! With the help of his friends (grasshopper, cricket, ant, firefly, etc.), he tries different ways to wake his papa, mama, and sister. My favorite is stinkbug, who offers to “stink” them out of bed. The watercolor illustrations are colorful and cute (each snail has its own unique patterned shell). Do Snippet’s attempts work? You’ll have to read it to get to the sweet conclusion.

I recommend this book for the preschool crowd (especially if you have an early riser like I do!). They will identify with the family dynamics and delight in the ways that Snippet tries to wake his family members. You can find the book trailer and some extension activities here. I’m looking forward to seeing more from this author in the future.

2 thoughts on “Friday Favorite: Snippet the Early Riser by Bethanie Deeney Murguia

Comments are closed.