Friday Favorite: “I Spy” books by Edward Gibbs

I Spy books by Edward Gibbs
I Spy books by Edward Gibbs

British author and former graphic designer Edward Gibbs takes the “I Spy” concept to a new level in his books, “I Spy on the Farm“, “I Spy with My Little Eye“, “I Spy Under the Sea” and his latest, “I Spy Pets“. Beyond stories, they engage the reader in an “I spy” game in one colorful, clever package. Brightly illustrated and interactive, these picture books feature an actual hole that the reader can peer through, but it is the text cues that help most with this guessing game.

From I Spy on the Farm:

“I spy with my little eye…something yellow that begins with a D. Quack, quack! I’m a duckling”.

“I spy with my little eye…something black that beings with an H. Neigh, neigh!  I’m a horse”.

The game doesn’t end on the last page- readers get a final hole and the words, “What can you spy with your little eye?” Recommended for ages 2 and up. You can read more reviews here.

