Friday Favorite: Five Favorite Love Themed Books for Children

lovebooks

There are many Valentine-themed picture books for children, but I tend to favor those loved-themed books that aren’t specific to Valentine’s Day- maybe because I can read and enjoy them with my kids any day of the year. After all, we express love for our children every day in big and small ways, not just on February 14. Here are 5 of my favorites that have the love theme, but only the first one is specific to the holiday. Great choices for the 2 and up crowd. Enjoy!

The Day It Rained Hearts by Felicia Bond

When hearts start pouring down instead of raindrops, Cornelia Augusta is inspired to make special Valentines for her friends.

Hello Baby by Mem Fox

A stunningly illustrated, animal-themed rhyming book with a narrative that ends with the message “You are my treasure”

The I Love You Book by Todd Parr

Fun and bright, this book expresses unconditional love for a child in any situation.

Wherever You Are My Love Will Find You by Nancy Tillman

Sappy, but I love it! Will totally inspire a snuggle-fest with your child. With a poetic narrative and magical illustrations, this book reminds us that we can feel love no matter where we are.

A Kiss Means I Love You by Kathryn Madeline Allen

Introduces various expressions and emotions with beautiful photos of children of all ethnicities. A great read-aloud too!

Scholastic has some other suggestions if these titles don’t appeal. What are your favorite love-themed children’s books? I’d love to know. Happy Valentine’s Day!

