Friday Favorite: Let’s Sing a Lullaby with the Brave Cowboy by Jan Thomas

Lullaby_ThomasI read Let’s Sing a Lullaby with the Brave Cowboy in a silly-themed story time this week and the kids looooved it- I have some very squirrely, outspoken boys in my preschool groups and even they were mesmerized. I read it in my best “country western” accent, and I wish I had remembered to wear a fake mustache and cowboy hat (next time…). I sang the opening lullaby, using a tune similar to the one in the book trailer. I invited the kids to sing along with me, once they’d heard it a couple times. This is one you could get props for, or act out with a storytelling partner. And if you played banjo or guitar (a skill I long to have), it would be fantastic to incorporate.

Other Jan Thomas titles include: What Will Fat Cat Sit On?, Rhyming Dust Bunnies, The Doghouse, A Birthday for Cow, Can You Make a Scary Face? and more. To learn more about Jan Thomas, here’s an author interview from “Seven Impossible Things Before Breakfast” a wonderful book blog worth your time.

Jan Thomas books are hilarious, and I love their innate invitation to play and interact, whether it’s with an individual child or an entire audience. They are great titles with large appeal; quite likely to help your child develop print motivation (an interest in and enjoyment in books), one of the six early literacy skills children need to have before learning to read.

