Favorite Finds: Kids Book Storage

Hi, I’m here. I’ve missed you. It’s good to be back after a nice long spring break. And how time is flying- I keep meaning to blog more and the ideas are piling up in my head but life keeps pressing down on the accelerator pedal with little chance of letting up. So anyway….

I’m a firm believer in making books part of your child’s environment, no matter where they choose to play. Here are a couple of playful book-related storage accessories for kids that are fun, good quality, and will jazz up any young reader’s room (or living room, or wherever they choose to store stories).

IMG_5090IMG_5087hungrycaterpillarbookendsIMG_5084

First, the P’kolino Book Buggee: it’s part toy and part storage- I love that it holds books and other prized possessions like my child’s favorite stuffed tiger, and his beloved Hot Wheels. There are four slots to hold bigger board books or picture books and it’s lightweight with a pull cord, so it’s easily transported to other rooms. It comes in a variety of colors and styles, and prices vary depending on where you purchase (I found mine recently at Target for $24.99 with just two color choices, purple and blue).

Second, The Hungry Caterpillar wooden bookends by Kids Preferred: I have a thing for Eric Carle, and one of my kids rooms already has a little theme going so these were a perfect addition (see photos below, the wall canvas is from Target and the alphabet flashcards can be purchased at a variety of places). They are lightweight, so if you’re looking for a heavier set of bookends that stay in one place and hold a bunch of big books, you won’t be happy with these; however since my 2+ year old is likely to move and throw anything he can reach, I wanted something that’s unlikely to cause injury or damage. He still has a fairly big collection of board books, and these work well for that format. (Available on Amazon for $25-30, but I found them at HomeGoods for $12.99 for the set).

IMG_5085 IMG_5086

Do you have favorite storage items for your kids books? I’d love to hear from you!

